Composer Chris Gallaher
Title Trio for Flute, Cello and Piano, op. 33
Level ADV
Genre Woodwind
Price $25.00
Description "Trio for Flute, Cello and Piano, op.33" has been written by Christopher S. Gallaher. The work is dedicated to Robert Pritchard, Flautist extraordinaire.

This musically well-crafted work will appeal to both performers and audiences. The first movement opens with a slow imitative interplay between flute and cello, accompanied by added-note and quasi-quartal chords in the piano, leading to a rhythmically energetic allegro based upon octatonic scales that is interrupted by a cadenza featuring note-bending and glissandi. Tritones and ostinato basses in the piano give the slow second movement an exotic lyricism that closes with a brief hint at thematic material from the third movement. The third movement is a delightful allegro in three-eight with thematic material built upon major-ninth arpeggios and plenty of rhythmic fun with hemiola and four-eight measures.

© 2020 Really Good Music, LLC. All rights reserved