Composer Dave Anderson
Title Sonata #2 for Double Bass and Piano
Level ADV
Genre Bass
Price $35.00
Description "Sonata for Double Bass and Piano" was written by David Anderson in 2009. This work is dedicated to Hal Robertson, Principal Bass of the Philadelphia Orchestra and was premiered by him in May of 2009. Mvt I = Allegro Moderato; Mvt. 2 = Scherzo-Presto; Mvt. 3 = Adagio; Mvt 4 = Rondo (Nola)- Presto. This is a work which will challenge and delight the performers and the audience. Another gem from the mind and pen of David Anderson. The composer writes "My second bass sonata was commissioned by Hal Robinson. In 1985 he was appointed by Mstislav Rostropovich to the position of principal bass of the National Symphony Orchestra, where he performed until 1995, when he assumed his present post as principal bass of the Philadelphia Orchestra and a member of the faculty of the Curtis Institute of Music.

Hal and I have been friends for many years and has always been an enthusiastic performer of many of my bass pieces in many venues in the US and Europe. Upon winning the principal bass in Philadelphia, music director Wolfgang Sawallisch suggested a performance of a concerto with the orchestra and Hal suggested a new work by me. I had to send a few pieces for Sawallisch to review and I was immediately commissioned for a new concerto for Hal and the Philadelphia Orchestra. My Concerto for Double Bass, Strings and Harp was pre-premiered at the International Bass Society of Bassists convention in 1997 and then an official premier by the Philadelphia Orchestra, Sawallisch conducting to a huge success in Philadelphia and at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC. It has since been performed internationally by many. In 2008, Hal requested a new piece and I began work immediately. A new talented bass player here in the LPO, Tony Parry, has also worked with Hal and took an immediate interest in my new sonata. I would play him updates as the piece progressed and Tony became very enthusiastic to perform it and I am very pleased to have him give the New Orleans premier tonight! This piece follows a very traditional form throughout. The 1st Movement is very melodious and meant to highlight Halís beautiful phrasing and sound. The 2nd Movement is a Scherzo of dark frenzy, contrasted with a comic Trio, including some unusual sounds. The slow 3rd Movement is influenced by late Shostakovich works. The last Movement is again a Rondo, but has very contrast B, C, and D sections with a Cuban jazz and New Orleans funk influence. (It may need some clapping or a cowbell!). One pianistís opinion was that it sounded like Chick Corea or Herbie Hancock playing Prokofiev! This piece is now published and has been performed many times".

© 2020 Really Good Music, LLC. All rights reserved