Composer Mark Eliot Jacobs
Title Alpenspiegel (Alphorn Quartet)
Genre Horn
Price $25.00
Description Alpenspiegel for Alphorn quartet Alpenspiegel or “Alpine Mirror” explores some of the rich and less-familiar harmonic resources of the alphorn quartet. It is written for four alphorns all in the same key featuring the seventh harmonic. The setting is informed by jazz, and the “blue-note” quality of the seventh harmonic fits right in. Much of the material of the piece is presented in contrary motion, hence the “mirror” designation. Alpenspiegel is dedicated to the memory of a dearly departed friend and alphorn player, Terrie Henderson of Grants Pass, Oregon. Also available as a PDF.

© 2019 Really Good Music, LLC. All rights reserved