Composer Michael G. Cunningham
Title The Earl of Oxford March (Brass Sextet)
Level EASY
Genre Brass
Price $20.00
Description "The Earl of Oxford March" by William Byrd has been arranged for Brass Sextet by Michael Cunningham. Scored for: Trpt. 1 & 2; Trom. 1 & 2; Euph. & Tuba. Being purely programme music, The Battell is rare in Byrd’s output, which largely comprises set musical forms. It was probably written after 1588 when England was in a mood of national celebration after victory over the Spanish and French Armadas. The movement which Byrd calls Marche Before The Battell became known as The Earl of Oxford’s March, though it is not entirely clear why – it appears with that title in an early manuscript copy of the Fitzwilliam Virginal Book. Written while Byrd was at the height of his powers, it still stirs the soul to this day.

© 2020 Really Good Music, LLC. All rights reserved