Composer Darcy James Argue
Title Transit
Genre Jazz Ensemble
Price $80.00
Description Click to listen: Transit

View/Download Full Score (PDF)

Recorded on the album Infernal Machines (New Amsterdam Records) by Darcy James Argue’s Secret Society.

"Transit" was written in 2003 and revised in 2004 by Darcy James Agrue. Med-fast, straightish swing, h=120

"Transit" is the winner of the 2004 BMI Charlie Parker Composition Prize. Opening with a bittersweet chorale, it quickly gives way to a relentlessly propulsive D pedal that drives the chart through a number of transformations, including a gradual morph from a bright swing feel (q=240) into a dark half-time rock groove. A tour-de-force for band and fluegel soloist, who must navigate through many twists and turns throughout the long solo section.

Wind 1: Soprano Sax, Wind 2: Alto Sax, Wind 3: Tenor Sax, Wind 4: Tenor Sax, Wind 5: Bari Sax, Trumpet 1-4, Fluegelhorn (solo), Trombone 1-3, Bass Trombone, Guitar, Piano, Bass, Drums.

Trumpet 1 and Trumpet 2 to E (written).

© 2020 Really Good Music, LLC. All rights reserved