Composer Geoffrey Keezer
Title Aboard the Karlynn
Level ADV
Genre Jazz Ensemble
Price $65.00
Description "Aboard the Karlynn" in the 1st movement of the "Southeast Alaska Suite" written by Geoffrey Keezer in 2004. This was commissioned by and premiered in Glasgow and Edinburgh, Scotland on Feb. 11 & 12, 2005 by the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra. This opening movement stands by itself as a major work for an advanced jazz ensemble. The time signature alternates between 7/4 and 4/4. Repeating, sustained piano octaves represent the still water aboard the boat, in relationship to the shifting harmonies of the horns depicting the everchanging scenery of Alaska. The tenor saxophone is the featured soloist. (10:00)

Available as a PDF.

© 2020 Really Good Music, LLC. All rights reserved