Composer Geoffrey Keezer
Title Memory, Frozen Blue
Level ADV
Genre Jazz Ensemble
Price $65.00
Description "Memory, Frozen Blue" is the 2nd movement of the "Southeast Alaska Suite" written by Geoffrey Keezer in 2004. This movement stands alone as a complete work as well as a part of the suite. The Scottish National Jazz Orchestra commissioned and premiered the entire suite on Feb. 11 & 12, 2005 in Edinburgh and Glasgow, Scotland. One of the most spectacular sights in Alaska is the glaciers. Inconceivably ancient, they flow slowly and steadily towards the ocean, breaking off into icebergs. Sadly , the glaciers are melting faster and faster with the rising global temperatures. Someday soon they will be gone, and with them, their memories of countless millennia. The "Blue" in the title has a double meaning: the actual color of the ice, and the sadness felt by the composer thinking of their imminent fate. While not specifically in blues form, the improvised middle section contains stylistic elements of blues and funk. The soprano sax is featured throughout. (8:40)

Available as a PDF.

© 2020 Really Good Music, LLC. All rights reserved