Composer Russell Scarbrough
Title Praxis
Genre Jazz Ensemble
Price $60.00
Description "Praxis" was written in 2010 by Russell Scarbrough. It was commissioned by the SUNY Oswego Jazz Ensemble, Eric Schmitz, Director. This tune has some interesting time signatures...9/8 and 12/8. The composer writes: Praxis: Straight eighths, displays some influences Kenny Wheeler and ECM artists on the one hand, and minimalism on the other. A chart that explores several ways of playing in 9/8, while not straying far from the traditional 3+3+3 subdivision. Those interested in stretching out rhythmically will be very interested, but Praxis is more inventive than esoteric - in other words, itís not all that complicated! Solos for trumpet (jazz) and guitar (rock), and drums. 5-5-4-4, alto 2/tenor 1 double on clarinet (Commissioned for the SUNY Oswego Jazz Ensemble) This tune can be heard at

© 2020 Really Good Music, LLC. All rights reserved