Composer John Yao
Title Soundscape No. 1
Genre Jazz Ensemble
Price $60.00
Description "Soundscape No. 1" was written in 2013 by John Yao. Interesting chart with interesting sounds. Experimental Jazz. Scored for: Flute 1&2; Cl. 1&2; Bass Cl.; 4 Trpts.; 4 Troms.; Guitar; Piano; Bass; Drums. "Soundscape No. 1" is the first in a series of short works that are meant to explore sound and texture in the context of a big band. In this piece, the rhythm section is taken out of their customary role of playing time and are focused on texture and color while the ensemble plays a variety of sustained notes. The woodwind and brass play a variety of non-functional sonorities and are also focused on sound and texture with the freedom to crescendo and decrescendo as they wish. Also available as a PDF.

© 2020 Really Good Music, LLC. All rights reserved